Austin Photographer Patrick Meredith

www.meredith-photo.com

One short month to go…

leave a comment »

Colt McCoy directs his offensive line during the University of Texas Spring Jamboree.

Colt McCoy directs his offensive line during the University of Texas Spring Jamboree.

Sunday September 5th.   Sunday September 13th.  Sunday September 5th.  Sunday September 13th.  Repeat with me.

I can’t wait until the football season is in full swing.  The Texas heat *starts* to cool down, everyone is usually in a good mood (unless you are a Chiefs fan) and there is always a game to photograph here in Austin.  High school football kicks off right around that time as well, so my hands should be pretty full.  Not that I’m complaining.

I actually got my first two ‘games’ of the season under my belt a few months ago and just last week.  I went to the UT Spring Jamboree and the Texas High School All-Star game at Darrell K Royal-Memorial Stadium.  Even though I had a huge hit list (2 players I had didn’t play, so that only left 15 or so), it was a lot of fun.  The guys playing looked like they were having a blast as well.

Jelani Johnson, of Hightown, points to the sideline following a play during the 2009 THSCA all-star football game at Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium in Austin on Tuesday.

Jelani Johnson, of Hightown, points to the sideline following a play during the 2009 THSCA all-star football game at Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium in Austin on Tuesday.

And if you’ve been reading my blog at all, you may have noticed that I like to deploy remote cameras at just about every sporting event I’m at.  I was shooting the Texas High School Championships a few weeks ago and had a remote payoff pretty well.

JessiRay Navarrette celebrates after Chandler Geller strikes out to end the 5A State Semi-Final 11-3 in the Bulldogs favor on Friday in Round Rock.

JessiRay Navarrette celebrates after Chandler Geller strikes out to end the 5A State Semi-Final 11-3 in the Bulldogs favor on Friday in Round Rock.

I was shooting the dugout as the final batter struck out, but my remote captured the follow through and celebration.  This photo ran the entire front page of the sports section of the Austin American Statesman.

I also shot my first basketball game in a really, really long time last week.  I had a few photos run in the Houston Chronicle as well as onlinechron

That and a gallery over at TexasSports for the soccer coverage a post down or so.

blog5

I’ve got a concert to shoot tonight and a big feature story tomorrow…Hopefully all goes well.  I’ll be sure to show you all the results after they are published!

Leave a Reply

