Austin Photographer Patrick Meredith

www.meredith-photo.com

swimming, dogs, bikes and baseball

leave a comment »

Blue Hole in WImberly TexasIt’s weird thinking that a place as hot as Texas has the best swimming holes I’ve ever been to.  Granted I haven’t been to every state out there, but I’ve been to both coasts and tons of places inbetween…And nothing so far compares to what we have here in Austin and the surrounding communites.  Barton Springs, Deep Eddy, Blue Hole, Hamilton Pool and the list goes on.  If you haven’t taken the short drive over to Wimberley to swim at Blue Hole, I would suggest you get on it this weekend…Or better yet, go early on a weekday and beat the crowd.  Huge trees to jump off of, multiple rope swings and deep enough I didn’t touch bottom…I took the photo above at Blue Hole last year while on a photography assignment.  I can’t wait to go back….Now just if I could make it out to Balmorhea sometime soon…I hear they have a treasure out there..

Dog Park Austin Texas

I’ve also been on a quest over the past few weeks to backup and burn all my images onto disks…Something I ‘ve been meaning to do for some time…But I’ve been finding all of these photographs that I forgot about…A majority of them should have stayed that way, but I’ve found a few that make me laugh, like the one above.  Brazos getting airborne over Hank at Auditorium Shores in Austin.

Hank

I also found this photo…My first time with Hank in the studio.  He was so excited with all the lights going off that I had to use treats to get him to stay still for a couple of seconds.  It’s kind of amazing how many photos I’ve taken in the last few years since moving to Austin.  I’ve got photos of giant turtles, rodeos, mountains, the Austin skyline (from my short gig as an areal photographer), school plays, every sport imaginable and even photos of photos.

Origin 8 bike

I finally pulled the trigger on a new bike this morning…A custom built Origin 8. Nothing too special, but I’ve been wanting another 26er to jump for some time. For those of you reading this that may not know, I’ve been riding bikes seriously (competitively some would say) for the last 12 years. Only in the last 2 years have I begun the transformation from jumping my 20″ BMX to wearing spandex and washing out on tires skinnier than my pinkie finger. This mountain bike found a good home and will fit in nicely with the bike ‘museum’ I have in the spare bedroom…Now if the trails would only dry up a bit…

Now I’m off to the Dell Diamond to shoot some of the 2009 UIL State Baseball Championships…should be a fun time…

Written by patrickmeredith

June 12, 2009 at 2:25 pm

Posted in Fun stuff

Leave a Reply

