Austin Photographer Patrick Meredith

www.meredith-photo.com

And finally….

with 2 comments

So I’ve spent the last week lounging around my house.  Not because I wanted to, but because I twisted my ankle something terrible at a softball game last weekend.  It swelled up so bad within the first few minutes that I had to take my shoe off.  The EMT’s on scene didnt have any Aleve (or Advil, etc) or any bandage wrap.  I hate to think what would have happened if something major would have happened.  !!!

Anyhow, I’ve been shooting a little here and there, most noteably at SXSW this past week.

I got to sit through a number of terrible films, terrible bands and terrible light shows throughout the two weeks.  I also got to see a couple good films, a couple good bands (including Cory Branan) and one good light show throughout the two weeks.

I usually make it my goal to go to other locations if there are other photographers around because I don’t enjoy getting the exact same shot as everyone else around me.  I took this theory into my SXSW shooting, but it was impossible in some situations.

I got an assignment to cover a party at one of the bars downtown and made my way upstairs and found myself behind the counter of the open bar.  Free booze=absolute madness.  People were lining up and screaming…yikes…

SXSW_Austin_Texas_Patrick_Meredith

I also shoot the film/interactive portion of the festival and saw a couple of neat shows.  The photo below is right before the start of a flick at the Paramount Theatre on Congress Avenue in downtown Austin.  I think it’s funny how no one ever wants to sit in the front row…

SXSW_Film_Festival_Paramount_Meredith

I also got to shoot some more University of Texas baseball the other day.  It was super cold  in Austin for some reason and rain loomed all afternoon.  I set up two remote cameras a couple of hours before the first game and ended up with no useable shots from either camera.  A nice lesson there!

Here is a pretty typical shot of Chance Ruffin.  I would love to get a camera looking down on the mound from above the pressbox.  Nothing but that new green turf and the mound….A guy can dream…

Chance_Ruffin_Texas_Longhorns_Baseball

And in other news, I have accepted the role of becoming the official photographer of the Austin Aztex, the local professional soccer team.  Their regular season starts next week.  You will be able to see my photos on their website, here and hopefully one in my portfolio some day.

Austin_Aztex_soccer_Texas

I also started to get my photos on my Photoshelter website.  It has been a long time coming, but I’m finally getting it done.

And last but not least…Are you intersted in purchasing some Leica camera equipment?  Take a look at what I’ve got up for grabs HERE.


<H6>All photos/text by Austin sports photographer Patrick Meredith www.meredith-photo.com</H6>
Written by patrickmeredith

March 28, 2009 at 3:16 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is there any chance you could add an RSS feed to your blog? It’s the only way I remember to read them.

    Barney D.

    April 1, 2009 at 2:23 am

  2. Sorry, nevermind I found it. You may consider putting one of the RSS buttons toward the top of the nav bar. It’s really tough to find otherwise. Sorry about that!

    Barney D.

    April 1, 2009 at 2:27 am


Leave a Reply

